HER is the top nominee at the 2021 Soul Train Awards



The Soul Train Awards, which recognize the best in soul and R&B, will be recorded at the legendary Apollo Theater in Harlem on November 20. They will premiere Sunday, November 28 at 8 p.m. ET / PT on BET and BET Her. As previously announced, Tisha Campbell and Tichina Arnold will co-host the show for the fourth year in a row.

The show will be special in two ways. This will be the first time the show has been recorded at the Apollo (or New York, for that matter). It will also honor the 50th anniversary of Soul Train, which debuted in October 1971.

Maxwell will receive the Legend Award, which in recent years has gone to Babyface (2015), Teddy Riley (2016), Toni Braxton (2017), Erykah Badu (2018) and Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis (2019).

“It is an honor to receive the Legend award from a community that has grown with me throughout my career,” Maxwell said in a statement. “I am so grateful to share this moment with everyone and to return to the Apollo for an evening of excellence.”

Ashanti will be the recipient of the Lady of Soul honor, won in recent years by Jill Scott (2015), Brandy (2016), SWV (2017), Faith Evans (2018), Yolanda Adams (2019) and Monica (2020).

“I am honored to be recognized as this year’s Lady of Soul Laureate,” said Ashanti. “This is a looping moment for me as I received the Aretha Franklin Artist of the Year award at the Lady of Soul Awards in 2002. As we commemorate 50 years of Soul Train, I am proud to be part of that legacy and return to Apollo to celebrate.

BET Soul plans to dedicate a full hour to clips of Maxwell and Ashanti, starting Wednesday, November 3 at 10 a.m. ET. Check local listings.

Connie Orlando, EVP, Specials, Music Programming & Music Strategy, will oversee the show, with Jamal Noisette VP, Specials, Music Programming & Music Strategy, who will be co-executive producer for BET. Jesse Collins and Jeannae Rouzan-Clay of Jesse Collins Entertainment will be the executive producers.

Here’s the full list of nominees for the 2021 Soul Train Awards:

Song of the year:
Blxst feat. Ty Dolla $ Ign & Tyga – “Chosen One”
Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak (Silk Sonic) – “Leave the Door Open”
SHE – “Too bad”
Jazmine Sullivan – “Picking Up Your Feelings”
The feat of Wizkid. Tems – “Essence”
Yung Bleu’s achievement. Drake – “You are always mine”

Album of the year:
Blxst – No love lost
Cat Doja – Planet her
Overlook – When all is said and done … Take the time
HER – In the back of my mind
Jazmine Sullivan – Tales of Heaux
Wizkid – Made in Lagos

Video of the year:
Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak (Silk Sonic) – “Leave the Door Open”
Chris Brown, feat Young Thug. Future, Lil Durk, Latto – “Go Crazy (Remix)”
SHE – “Too bad”
Jazmine Sullivan – “Picking Up Your Feelings”
Normani’s feat. Cardi B – “Wild side”
The feat of Wizkid. Tems – “Essence”

Best Female R & B / Soul Artist:
Alicia Keys
Doja cat
Jazmine Sullivan
Jhené Aiko

Best Male R & B / Soul Artist:
Chris Brown
Lucky day

Best collaboration:
Chris Brown, feat Young Thug. Future, Lil Durk, Latto – “Go Crazy (Remix)”
Doja Cat feat. SZA – “Kiss me more”
HIS achievement. Chris Brown – “Come Through”
Jazmine Sullivan’s achievement. HER – “Girl like me”
The feat of Wizkid. Tems – “Essence”
Yung Bleu’s achievement. Drake – “You are always mine”

Best New Artist:
Capella Gray
Your Stith
Yung Blue

Certified Soul Reward:
Anthony hamilton
Charlie wilson
The Isley Brothers
Jam & Lewis

Best Dance Show:
Chloe X Halle – “Unholy Hour”
Chris Brown, young thug – “City Girls”
Lizzo Feat. Cardi B – “Rumors”
Normani Feat. Cardi B- “Wild side”
Usher – “Bad Habits”

Best gospel / inspiration award:
Brian Courtney Wilson
James fortune
Kelly Award
Kirk franklin
Maverick city music
Tasha Cobbs Leonard

The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter Award:
“Can’t Let It Show” – written by: Kate Bush, Durrell Babbs (Tank)
“Come Through” – written by: Carl Mccormick, Chris Brown, HER, Kelvin Wooten, Michael L. Williams Ii, Tiara Thomas (HER Feat. Chris Brown)
“Too bad” – written by: Anthony Clemons Jr., Carl Mccormick, HER, James Harris, Jeff Gitelman, Terry Lewis, Tiara Thomas (HER)
“Essence” – written by: Ayodeji Ibrahim Balogun, Oniko Eddie Uzezi, Oniko Evawero, Richard Isong, Temilade Openiyi (Wizkid Feat. Tems)
“Leave the Door Open” – written by: Bruno Mars, Brandon Anderson, Dernst Emile Ii, Christopher Brody Brown (Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic)
“Pick Up Your Feelings” – written by: Blue June, Chi, Audra Mae Butts, Jazmine Sullivan, Kyle Coleman, Michael Holmes (Jazmine Sullivan)


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.